•  Last Fortunes Countdown #6 •  Last Fortunes Countdown #5 •  Last Fortunes Countdown #3 & #4 •  Last Fortunes Countdown #2 •  Last Fortunes Countdown #1 •  Fortune for October •  Your Guide to this Fall's Bodily Fluid Moons •  Rinse. Wash. Repeat. •  To the Pole! •  Just a Box of Games, Box 4 •  About Damn Time •  Fortune •  Once More Unto the Breach •  I Surrender •  Just a Box of Games, Box 3 •  Just a Box of Games, Box 2 •  Just a Box of Games, Box 1 •  Gun Belt •  A Man, A Man, A Plan, Not Approved •  Come Home, George McGovern

all items  RSS feed
multimedia-only RSS feed
politics-only RSS feed
RSS 2.0

©2003-2017 Darrel Plant

Politics and Media
Daily Kos
First Draft
This Modern World
Dennis Perrin
A Tiny Revolution
The Huffington Post
Crooks and Liars

Portland Area Game Developer Interest Group
Touch Arcade
Dean's Director Tutorials & Resources
MXNA: Director
Director Online Users Group

Stan Ridgway
They Might Be Giants
The Stranglers
The Tubes
The Dickies
Ray Davies

People & Stuff
Phillip Kerman
The Lonely Robot
Wexford Girl
Extraordinary Days
Ken Jennings
Bob Harris

«  Missed Fortune  |   Main   |  Write, Baby, Write!  »

»  November 17, 2008


The Gross Lock

There have been seventeen Chief Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States. The first of them to be appointed in the era of the "modern" Democratic/Republican two-party system was the sixth Chief Justice, Salmon Portland Chase, who was brought to the Court by President Abraham Lincoln shortly after his re-election in 1864.

Of the eleven other Chief Justices who've served in the 144 years since that appointment, only three were selected by Democratic presidents, and those three served a total of about 24 years (Democratic presidents were in the White House for 60 years of that span). The last Chief Justice selected under a Democratic administration was Fred Moore Vinson (appointed by Harry Truman), who died in office more than 55 years ago.

Mon Nov 17, 2008 15:21 -0800